Workforce Development

The Columbus County NC Works Career Center is located at Southeastern Community College (SCC) and offers students the North Carolina’s Career Readiness Certificate (CRC) and On-The-Job-Training (OJT) opportunities.

SCC offers coursework in IT, mechatronics, electrical engineering technology, and welding. 

Columbus College and Career Academy trains high school students in broadcast and communication technology, culinary arts & food processing, CNC machining/metal working and masonry. Students either complete an Associate degree or transfer to a four-year college for a Bachelor degree.

The SCC Success Scholarship offers high school graduates in Columbus County two years of free tuition and fees. Nearby UNC-Pembroke in Robeson County offers scholarship opportunities to promote workforce development in the region. Students in Columbus County that are ready to go to work after high school graduation have the resources and support to develop the skills needed for successful careers in local industry.

Four-year degree programs are available at the community college in collaboration with the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. UNC-Wilmington, UNC-Pembroke, Coastal Carolina and Fayetteville State University are all within a one-hour drive of Whiteville.